H-Squared

We have such a blessed life together but even we can get tattered by life's unexpected happenings.

Birthdays and Fireworks July 5, 2007

Filed under: birthdays,freedom; fireworks — Sooz @ 5:51 PM

July 3rd marked my 28th birthday. Whoopie! No I was not that excited nor was anyone else because it was possibly one of the lousiest birthdays I have ever endured. I supposed that its partly my fault for expecting more than I should for anything. I usually don’t expect anything from anyone and normally am more comfortable giving than receiving. There is something special though about having one day out of the entire year set completely aside for yourself. Its your birthday! Aren’t you supposed to expect more from that day? The only thing wrong with expectations is it sets yourself up for disappointment and it rang true for me on Tuesday. Or maybe its self pity and I want someone to feel sorry for me. Ugh!

I worked half a day Tuesday because the company I work for gives you that as a birthday “gift”. Sweet deal! Its sweet until you find out the entire office left at 2 p.m. because its terribly slow the day before a holiday. *Not one person told me Happy Birthday other than family* I spent the next half of the day by myself doing laundry and other household duties. Not very fun! I had asked months before for R to take half the day off with me, but nooooo he forgot. Real nice~~. By the time he got home it was right about 6 pm and I was in a total depressive funk.

My sister and her family came by to drop off my gift. After they left he took me to Chili’s for dinner. I didn’t even get the right food that I had ordered and that made me even more in a funk. After dinner we went to Target and walked around for over an hour. It was not exactly how I would imagined anyones birthday. I was sad that it didn’t feel special at all and I try to make other peoples birthdays as special as possible. What got me about my own family is that they came down for R’s birthday dinner, but not mine? R did try to get everyone together for dinner and cake.

R did buy me a new book, candle with a neat holder, and some bubble bath. My sister bought me one of those ice cream makers that sits on your kitchen counter. Its one that you see on the Food Channel sometimes that Emeril or Barefoot Contessa would be using. My parents bought me a candle and a new jacket. All the gifts in the world didn’t make up for no one being there to celebrate with me. R bought a cake but no one was there to enjoy it so we didn’t even cut it until really late that night and that was only a sliver. Not even a candle or Happy Birthday tune.

**Bless my sweet husbands heart for trying his hardest to make it special.

4th of July was boring. I was still feeling funky so I slept in, showered, had lunch, and caught up on all the old Grey’s Anatomy’s I had DVR’d and then took a long nap. We did go to my sisters that night for dinner in which her husband’s sisters family was there and weren’t supposed to be so it was kind of awkward for all of us. The fireworks were ok but the brother in law on the other side is a complete know it all so he completely took over them, but it turned out the fireworks in the distance that our neighbors had going was a great show. Thank you to them.

I’m much better today now that I am back at work. Did I say that?… Hope everyone had a great day off yesterday if you were able to be off. Thank you to all of our military and others that keep our freedom going everyday. Especially to those that are in my very own family…we love you!